Orange California Workers’ Compensation Defense Attorney

Workers’ Compensation law is highly complex, multi-faceted, technical, and affected by statutory, regulatory, and case law. Defending workers’ compensation cases takes a great deal of skill, knowledge, experience and creativity.  Certified Specialists in Workers’ Compensation participate in additional training and testing to achieve and maintain their status.

Workers’ compensation laws in the State of California, like many other states, require that employers take responsibility for injury or disability sustained in the course of employment regardless of fault. Therefore, benefits for work-related illness or injury are virtually always paid out through workers’ compensation. On one hand, this limits the employee’s ability to take action for extensive damages (with a few narrow exceptions). On the other hand, it means that every employer must pay to be insured against worker’s comp claims or secure a certificate to self-insure from the Department of Industrial Relations. The latter option is typically reserved for large companies with the resources to fund their own worker’s comp account.

Initial Steps

In the event of a work-related employee injury that: (1) results in time lost beyond the day of the incident, and (2) requires medical treatment beyond first aid, the employee must provide a claim form and notice of potential eligibility within one working day. The employer or insurance company has 90 days to either accept or reject liability. If not rejected within the 90-day time-frame, the claim is presumed to be compensable.

If liability is rejected or if there is a dispute as to workers’ comp eligibility, an appeal may be filed with the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) and the case may then go as far as a trial.

Medical Eligibility

Disputed workers’ compensation injuries may require the opinion of a qualified medical examiner who has met certain requirements to be eligible to perform workers’ comp injury examinations. The legal counsel for the employer or insurance company ensures that the medical examiner is mutually agreed-upon or that evaluations are performed by two qualified medical examiners, one chosen by each side.

Declaration of Readiness and Findings

Whichever party desires a hearing before the WCAB must file a Declaration of Readiness to Proceed, which means that an effort has been made to informally resolve the dispute, the necessary evidence has been gathered, and the requesting party is prepared for a hearing.

If one of the parties has good cause, they may object to the Declaration of Readiness, in which case the WCAB will assign the case to a judge for a mandatory settlement conference. If a settlement isn’t reached, a Trial hearing is set, after which the judge will issue a “Findings and Award” or “Take Nothing” order, depending whether benefits are to be issued.

Our Expertise

Allowing a worker’s compensation case to drag on is not to the benefit of our clients.  The Law Offices of George E. Corson IV approaches workers’ compensation defense with creativity and an emphasis on seeking resolution as quickly and efficiently as possible. We want to close your file.

Ratings and Reviews

CBLS